CT Yankees Rugby Club, Rugby, Rugby CT, Rugby Fairfield CountyFounded in 1975 as the Connecticut Yankees, the Fairfield Yankees have been an active part of the rugby scene in Connecticut and the Northeast. In the Fall of 1988, the Connecticut Yankees merged with the Stamford Wombats, adding a red stripe to our shield in representation of the merger. In 2015, the Yankees would celebrate their 40th Anniversary and commemorate with yet another merging, this time with the Fairfield Rugby Club, officially changing the name to the Fairfield Yankees and adding the blue stripe to the shield. The Yankees have competed in the New England Rugby Football Union (NERFU), the Metropolitan New York (MetNY) Rugby Union, and currently compete within the Empire GU (Geographical Union). In 2017, the Yankees community grew and the team formed a second Men’s side as well as established the Fairfield Lady Yankees (FLY), with their first seasons having started in the Spring of 2017 and officially joining the Empire GU in the Fall of 2017. 

Based in Fairfield County, the Yankees practice in Fairfield and play home matches in the seaside town of Westport, Connecticut. The Yankees currently field three XV’s sides consisting of a Men’s DII XV, Men’s DIII XV, and Women’s DIII XV and support a Men’s, Women’s, and Social Summer 7’s program. We are also heavily involved in local youth rugby programs in the Fairfield County area.


Fairfield Yankees Rugby Football Club Accolades

With over 40 years of history in Fairfield County, the Fairfield Yankees Rugby Club have competed and placed in several tournaments. This includes the 2004 and 2016 National Championship among many others:

2017 – Men’s New Haven 7’s Bowl

2017 – Men’s Hell Gate 7’s Social Cup

2017 – Men’s DIII Empire GU Champions

2016 – Men’s DIII National Champions

2016 – Men’s DIII Empire GU Champions

2015 – New Jersey 7’s Champion

2011 – Nutmeg 7’s Champion

2011 – Long Island XV’s Tournament 3rd Place

2010 – New Haven 7’s 2nd Place

2010 – Long Island XV’s Tournament 2nd Place

2008 – NERFU DI Tournament 2nd Place

2004 – Men’s DII National Champions

2003 – Northeast Rugby Union DII Champion

2003 – NERFU DII Champion

2003 – National DII Sweet 16

2002 – Northeast Rugby Union DII Champion

2002 – NERFU DII Champion

2002 – National DII Sweet 16

2001 – Sono 10’s Champion

2001 – National DII Elite 8

2000 – Barnum 10’s Champion

2000 – Danbury 7’s Champion

2000 – Northeast 7’s Champion

2000 – National DII Sweet 16

1999 – Northeast Rugby Union DII Champion

1999 – METNY DII Champion

1998 – CT Irish Festival Champion

1998 – CT Cup Champion

1997 – Worcester 7’s Champion

1997 – CT Irish Festival Champion

1997 – Barnum 10’s Champion

1996 – CT Cup Champion

1996 – St Patricks Tournament Champion

1995 – CT Cup Champion

1995 – Lake Champlain 7’s Champion

1992 – National DII Sweet 16

1991 – METNY DII Champion

1991 – Beacon Hill 7’s Champion

1989 – Charles River 7’s Champion

1988 – St Patricks Tournament 3rd Place

1988 – CT Cup 2nd Place

1988 – NY 7’s Champion

1987 – Long Island XV’s Tournament Champion

1982 – FL Cup 2nd Place

1981 – CT Cup Champion